At LinkedIn, we want to help you make the most of your professional life. Part of that is showing the world more about who you are and what you know by sharing ideas, starting conversations, and inspiring others with your work.
So, that raises a question: who owns all of the content you post on LinkedIn? You do, and you always have. We've updated our User Agreement (effective October 23, 2014) to reinforce our commitment to respecting what's yours. Whether it's an update, photo, comment, post, presentation, portfolio, or anything else, we want to make it clear that you're in control of your content.
Here are some highlights (you can read more in our blog post):
You're in the driver's seat. We'll always ask your permission before using your content in third-party ads, publications, or websites. We've always done this, but now our User Agreement specifically spells it out.
You decide when your content goes. If you delete something from our platform, we won't use it anymore.
Share wherever or whenever you'd like. We don't own or have exclusive rights to your content. It's yours, so feel free to repost it anywhere, however you want.
We also want to give you even more control over your account so we're introducing some new tools:
You can now export your LinkedIn data, including updates you've shared, your activity, where or how you access LinkedIn, and more.
The emails we send when you change your password now include info about the place where the action was taken, so you can rest assured your account is secure.